>Quiet Moments

>I’ve finally cooled down after chugging a blue Gatorade. Mowing the lawn in a heat wave ranks right up there with a root canal or a spinal tap. However, during the repetitive motions of going back and forth across our overgrown lawn, I recalled a treasured moment with my son. Rather than share any details, I want to back up.

For those of us who have kids, there’s a certain moment in their development that we think, “Surely, this is the BEST time. It will never be any better.” I think the grammar school years were pretty amazing. They  communicate, they’re silly, self-consciousness hasn’t reared its ugly head. In my house, this translated into wild dress-up costumes and “dates” with Mom that didn’t have to revolve around sports or shopping. Secretly, I feared what many of us fear: the door will slam in my face the minute they hit adolescence. It has closed many times, don’t get me wrong. But, it always opens back up.

It’s often in the quiet moments of the evening that the proverbial door will swing wide open and I’m in that sacred space of my kids’ thoughts, feelings, and questions. My fears are put to rest, at least momentarily, that the best isn’t over…it’s just a different kind of best.

There aren’t crazy costumes or parades down the hall, rather they are priceless moments of hearing their worries, victories, and thought provoking questions such as, “Why do people act the way they do?”; or “When will I feel less lonely?”

These quiet moments are peak experiences in life. I want to grab them and tuck them in my heart, replaying them over and over like a favorite song on my iPod. These moments, in which time seems to cease, rarely happen when I “plan them” or introduce a tricky subject (gossip, young ladies who show too much skin, power girls, finding faith and living by it). Rather, they enter the room like a whisper, teasing me to drop what I’m doing, never yelling out, “Hey, pay attention. This is important!”

I suppose when the kids are grown, moved out, and I have the opportunity to look back and reflect, I’ll remember every best stage of their life. For now, I’m sticking to my belief that the best is now if I pay attention, listen, and wait for the next whisper.

Leave a Reply

